In summary, Massachusetts judges can (and often do) order parents to contribute to their children’s college costs, but such payments are not mandatory under the law, and should not be ordered by a court “until the child is already attending, or is about to attend, college.”
Do divorced parents have to Paying for college in Massachusetts?
A parent may be ordered to help pay for college with or without being ordered to pay child support to the other parent. … Also, the court can make support and education orders when a child is younger than 23 years, lives at home, is financially dependent on a parent, and is in an educational program.
Do you pay child support and college tuition in Massachusetts?
Under MA law, parents may be obligated to contribute to college costs. College costs and child support are intertwined, so if a parent is paying college expenses, that will be taken into account in fashioning a child support order and vice versa. … No two circumstances in a child support case are exactly the same.
Can a parent be forced to pay for college?
In California, as in most states, parents do not have a legal obligation to pay for their children to go to college. … As with property division and spousal support, divorcing spouses have a significant degree of flexibility when it comes to addressing the issue of their children’s college expenses.
Can I sue my parents for not paying for college?
In most states, the family court system generally assumes that children’s parents will adequately represent those children’s best interests. With that being said, some states do allow children over the age of 18 to sue their parents in order to have their college education expenses paid for.
Does child support end at 18 in MA?
Child support does not automatically terminate when your child reaches the age of 18. On the contrary, by statute, child support may be ordered for a child between the ages of 18 and 21 if that child primarily resides with one parent and is principally dependent on that parent for his or her support.
Can you sue for child support after 18?
Generally and specifically under some state laws, the parent to whom support was awarded retains the right to collect support arrearages even if the child is now an adult. … In most cases, an adult child does not have legal standing to directly sue his or her parent for unpaid child support.
What is the average child support payment in Massachusetts?
Massachusetts parents pay the most child support in the country, according to a new study. Research by CustodyXChange, an app that helps divorced, separated or single parents create schedules for childcare, showed that on average Massachusetts parents pay $1,187 per month in child support.
Can a divorced father be forced to pay for college?
Under California law, the obligation to pay child support typically ends at age 18 and there are no provisions for adult child support. … As stated above, parents have no legal obligation to pay for their child’s college expenses in a divorce judgment.
How much are parents expected to pay for college?
First, in general, parents are expected to contribute up to 47% of their net income to the cost of college every year. Before you freak out, stop! That doesn’t mean 47% of every dollar you earn.
Which states require parents to pay for college?
The following states have laws or case law that give courts the authority to order a non-custodial parent to pay for some form of college expenses: Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, …